90.1 F
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Colorado Snowsports Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2021

The Colorado Snowsports Museum Hall of Fame announced the Hall of Fame class of 2021, an impressive group of industry pioneers, inspirational individuals and world-class athletes who will be formally inducted on August 22 at the 2021 Hall of Fame Celebration in Vail.

The Induction Celebration takes a new approach this year, with a family-friendly, open-air format at the Gerald R. Ford Amphitheater. Ticket prices start at $50 for adults. All proceeds go to support the Colorado Snowsports Museum, a non-profit organization and the State of Colorado’s official snow sports museum. The event host will be two-time World Champion skier, Chris Davenport.

The 2021 Class of the Colorado Snowsports Hall of Fame:

  • Ellen Post Foster – Pioneer – a former world-class international freestyle competitor who has spent her life studying skiing and sharing her lessons, Foster helped create the current foundation of knowledge in the snow sports education field.
  • James Niehues – Inspiration – For 33 years, Colorado native and iconic ski resort trail map artist James Niehues has painted more than 200 stunning ski resort trail maps that skiers and snowboarders have used to navigate Colorado and other resorts worldwide. No other artist has had a more lasting and significant impact on the enjoyment of skiing.
  • Pam (Conklin) Pettee – Pioneer – Pettee blazed a trail in the promotion and media relations arenas for the Colorado ski industry. She held roles at both Vail and Telluride as well as being a ski industry lobbyist, accomplished public relations consultant and freelance ski writer.
  • Scott Rawles – Athlete – A former professional mogul skier, as a U.S. Ski Team Moguls coach Rawles led the team at five freestyle world championships resulting in 20 medals and four different world champions in moguls and dual moguls. Under his direction, the U.S. Freestyle Team won the Nations Cup in 2010, 2012 and 2013, and he is a three-time USSA International Coach of the Year.
  • Dave Stapleton Jr. – Athlete – A former U.S. Ski Team and professional racer who has dedicated his career to strengthening the Aspen Valley Ski Club. Through his efforts and fundraising work, Stapleton Jr. has given back to the sport at a level beyond most, benefitting many future generations of ski racers.

The Induction Ceremony will also include the Annual Recognition Awards, honoring individuals who have excelled in 2020 and 2021:

  • Jamie Duke – Lifetime Achievement Award 2020
  • Carl Peterson – Top of the Hill Award 2020
  • Mikaela Shiffrin – Competitor of the Year 2020 & 2021
  • Kendall Gretsch – Adaptive Athlete of the Year 2020
  • Keith Gabel – Adaptive Athlete of the Year 2021
  • Storm Klomhaus – Collegiate Skier of the Year 2020
  • Tobias Kogler – Collegiate Skier of the Year 2020
  • Cassidy Gray – Collegiate Skier of the Year 2021
  • Magnus Boee – Collegiate Skier of the Year 2021

The 2021 Hall of Fame Celebration Ceremony will begin at 3 p.m., August 22. It will feature Bavarian-themed food stations, attendees in their favorite lederhosen and dirndls, live music, as well as a silent auction and photo opportunities.

For more information and to buy tickets visit: https://www.snowsportsmuseum.org/shop/2021-hall-of-fame-induction-celebration-august-22nd-2021

Photo by Vail Daly

Related Articles